Melted Hopes

Hello everyone! It’s Friday, the end of the first full work week of the year, and time for the results of this week’s craft. As you may have been able to guess from the title of this post the craft didn’t go exactly how I had hoped. Was there snow? Yes. Did the kids paint? A little. Were they super excited about the craft? Not really.

wpid-20150108_101718.jpgSo this is what happened: Penny had her heart on going outside, but it was 10 degrees! Plus on Wednesday I had gone on a trip up to Up-State New York with my dad where the warmest part of the day was a balmy -5 degrees, so I wasn’t really in the mood to get Penny, Jude, and myself all bundled up to only have to come back inside 10 minutes later because their tears were freezing to their faces. So I said that we were going to stay inside but that I was going to bring the snow inside. My bringing the snow inside didn’t get the thrilling response I was hoping for. Penny was still crying in the corner because I wouldn’t let her go outside when I got back inside with bowls full of snow. Luckily by the time I had mixed the food coloring into the snow she was in a better mood and sitting at the table waiting to paint. When I gave them the bowls of colored snow they were more interested in eating it than painting with it but I figured they would stop soon enough. I was right, and they started painting. However they said that the paint didn’t melt fast enough and claimed that they had to let it melt by the fire first, which meant until the snow melted they ran around the house I was trying to clean…

wpid-20150108_101628.jpgThe snow finally melted and I herded them back to the table. They painted a bit and I was able to make lunch, taking breaks to spot wash Penny’s shirt that she kept staining even though I had an apron on her. Needless to say I was frustrated by my failed efforts of keeping her clean for school. In the end Penny dumped all of the red snow on top of her picture which washed most of the other colors out and made the paper a deeper red. Jude’s came out a bit better, it looked almost like a watercolor. Sadly I forgot to take pictures of the finished paintings because I wanted to wait until the paintings were dry before I took pictures of them and then I forgot.

Even though I didn’t get the enthusiastic response I was hoping for, the kids did actually have fun. The melting snow effect on the paper looked cool. And It was a fun way of playing with the snow without actually having to freeze our noses off. Plus it is so simple to make! It doesn’t get much more simple than snow and food coloring. So if you try this one out and get better results than I did I would love to hear about it, or if it turned out bad too. Alright well it is almost time to go pick up Penny from school so until next week, have a great weekend!

~The Pinning Nanny

Leave a Reply

