Wintery Dough

Snow Dough Recipe for play 65First of all I have to apologize for not posting yesterday, or earlier today. Yesterday was the first day of my new semester. So now that that is out of the way. This week Penny, Jude and I are going to make some snow because on Sunday when it was raining/freezing something outside all I wanted was snow. I love making and playing with play dough with the kids, and so when I found a recipe for snow dough I was really excited. It isn’t exactly play dough but I can’t wait to see how it feels and molds. This craft comes from Growing a Jeweled Rose, a blogger who I have found many great ideas for crafts through. Penny and Jude love making play dough with me and I think that this new spin on it will be a lot of fun for all three of us. Instead of using flour and water over the stove to make the dough this snow dough uses corn starch and lotion. I’ve got some cheap lotion that I never use and corn starch is a cheap ingredient and so I’m happy. Also I’m not sure but I’m guessing that the lotion will keep some of it’s moisture giving abilities and with all this cold weather mine and the kids hands could do with some moisture. This really would be a great craft if it was both something for play but also a hand treatment at the same time.

I want to do this craft in the morning in hopes that Penny and Jude will love it and play with it for a long time allowing me to make lunch in peace. I feel like of late that is one of my main goals. It is like a little sanctuary from the craziness to be able to still see them playing at the table through the door but have my music on and be in some level of quiet. So this is my goal with the snow dough, make lunch in peace. I think I should be able to accomplish this given the fact that they will be fascinated enough that corn starch and lotion make a play dough like object. I have also seen how long they can play happily with play dough and so that also gives me hope.

My only concern this week is a peaceful lunch making time. I don’t really care about a mess or anything else. I can take care of and clean up those things while Penny is at school and Jude is sleeping. This semester has officially started and I’m already tired, I just finished reading four articles. So be rooting for me this week! I’ll let you know on Friday if I got my break or not.

Leave a Reply

