Groundhog Day!

groundhogNext Monday is Groundhog Day and so this week Penny, Jude, and I are going to be artistic and color pictures of the groundhog. I know it is a little bit lame, but my Spring semester just started a week ago and all the other Groundhog Day crafts I found were super intense! So what did I do after spending 15 minutes on pinterest and only finding either crafts that required a lot of work or that I had to pay for? I googled “free groundhog day coloring pages” and voila I got my coloring pages. I found a bunch through that link and I would encourage you that if you’re in a pinch and you need a Groundhog Day craft print out some of those pages and just claim that coloring encourages imagination and self expression.

Penny and Jude can spend a lot of time coloring if they really get into it and always enjoy themselves so I don’t feel bad that I couldn’t find a better craft. I’ll print out a whole bunch of different pictures and just let them keep coloring different pages until I run out or they lose interest, whichever comes first. We haven’t done coloring in a while because I have been doing all these different fun crafts with them and so they should be pretty excited to get to color. I’ll put on some music, Disney pandora, and we will have a nice, hopefully calm, time coloring. I’m actually excited about it if you can believe it.

Right now I’m worried that since we have been doing so many fun and different crafts that they may not want to simply sit and color. If they don’t want to color the reality is that we just won’t be doing a Groundhog Day themed craft cause I don’t have anything else up my sleeve right now. I guess this wouldn’t be so bad but I kinda would  like to say that we did do something that correlates with the holiday, and we can’t very well watch Groundhog Day!

Alright well here’s hoping the kids are in the mood to color this week! I’ll let you know how the coloring party went on Friday, and until then stay warm!

Leave a Reply

